… Chapter 3, Backpacking Trip 1 : Kuala Lumpur …

Told you i would jump again while I’m on the trip. But before i explain where was I on this picture, gladly i told the story when i woke up in the morning. Still in Penang though. Me and hubby prepared to leave around 10 a.m from hotel. We didn’t want to be late in Kuala Lumpur, because it would be 4 hours trip with a bus. We had to go to bus terminal called Sungai Nibong terminal. We could get direct bus to Kuala Lumpur and it cost around 30 RM/person, same amount to have 15 minutes trip to Penang Hill hahaha.

As usual we have to take a bus to Sungai Nibong’s terminal in Komtar. As we arrived, several bus headed to Kuala Lumpur waiting for passengers. The terminal was so clean and quiet. Not too many people around. Soon in 4 hours I would be in another city.

I spend almost half of the trip with sleeping. I need to recharge my body for Kuala Lumpur’s journey. It will be more tiring since Kuala Lumpur is capital of Malaysia and metropolitan city. Different from Penang where we could find peace and being away from bustle of the city. Kuala Lumpur would have same ambiance like Jakarta. Large and tall building’s everywhere, individual people and busy streets. There was two things that i would like to have experience in Kuala Lumpur, monorail and Genting highlands.

When i saw our bus entering the freeway, i noticed that soon we’d arrive in Kuala Lumpur. For several times, we got mixed up in where we were gonna get off and started looking for monorail. My hubby said we should stay in Bukit Bintang, the busiest place in Kuala Lumpur. We decided to get out from the bus immediately and find street signage. Since hubby have been come to Kuala Lumpur several times, he remembered the bus number that heading to Bukit Bintang. Kuala Lumpur had some clean and dirty spots. When we took a bus, the shuttle bus was so dirty and stinky. The shuttle bus located in market area and 1 star hotels. So you would know what kind of area that I’m talking about. Busy and stink.

To Bukit Bintang would take 15-20 minutes away depend on the traffic. Since we arrived in the noon, i would say it was the  busiest traffic in Bukit Bintang. First i saw a great and high class shopping mall called Pavilion. Mostly international branded. I had an intention since the first time i come to Malaysia, eating Sushi Tei and watch Johnny English. Eventually, none of my intention came true. I get off the bus near Pavilion and take a walk. It was insane city, full of humans walking side by side. White, black, yellow, and brown hair all over the place. I could see Malayan, Chinese, Arab, and Foreign people in one place. The question that popped out in my head soon when I see this huge amount of people was could we get a hotel for sleep tonight?


Thank God there’s one hotel still available for us, cost us 60 RM/night. We took 2 nights and we should go home to Medan on Monday. Rest our body a while, we ready for walking around Bukit Bintang. First stop was Pavilion. Pavilion is the most fancy shopping mall in Bukit Bintang. There’s a lot numbers of shopping mall in Bukit Bintang and it attached one and another. It would never enough time to take round those malls. Among of that malls, Pavilion catches my eyes because of the design and traffics.

Pavilion consists of four major components actually: retail mall, office tower, hotel and two residentials. For the retail mall it consists of six precincts and a row of street-front boutiques. Mostly world’s brand like Chanel, Prada, Gucci, etc. I’ve been search on the internet that Sushi Tei is one of Pavilion’s tenant but unfortunately i couldn’t find it. Arrrgghhh, damn !!



My hubby said we should go to Petronas Tower as known as Twin Tower. He was afraid that tomorrow we don’t have enough time to take a moment in Petronas because we would spend more time in Genting Highland and Petaling Street. So we took a walk from Pavilion to Twin Tower and thought it was closed enough from Pavilion. But, it wasn’t as near as i expected, i had sore feet then. Thanks to my husband.

Before I’ve got to Petronas Tower, first I saw Suria KLCC, another fancy shopping mall. It’s a 1,500,000 sq ft (140,000 m2) upmarket retail podium at the feet of the Petronas Towers. It features mostly foreign luxury goods and high-street labels. Its attractions include an art gallery, a philharmonic theater, an underwater aquarium and also a Science centre. I wasn’t come inside, just took a picture outside the building because the Petronas more interesting for me than the mall.

Speaking of Petronas, this building has broke the record as the tallest building in the world from 1994-2004. The building also become a landmark to Kuala Lumpur. For certain day, Petronas Tower open for public and we could see the KL view from inside. Unfortunately, i came at night, so its already to late. Maybe another time.

The bridge off from Pavilion Mall
Suria KLCC, below Petronas Twin Tower building

 

We spent time to take a photos, same like everybody else. As you can see mostly of my pictures was only me, its because my husband didn’t like to be in the frame. He prefer stays as a photographer, although he is more photogenic than I hehehe. He captured me as I say, because usually journalist doesn’t take a fun picture. He will take a picture that contain news in it. The good thing is he true to his profession. Even so, I always love you, dear.

Then i back to our hotel by walking again, maybe around 1-2 km. Too tired to hang out tonight, but never tired to eat though. As we walk by to hotel, i found cute and delicious cart contain of meat. I look closely and obviously they sold any kinds of meat like pork, fish, beef, even seafood. They form it into “Sate” and fried it on the spot. They prepare some sauce to complete the dish like peanut and ketchup sauce.

Oh yeah, i think i forgot to tell you that the view in front of my hotel was entirely food. I think this is heaven for food lovers. Sadly i wasn’t tasting any of restaurant because I have to focus on my destination. I promise next time I’ll try it otherwise i will regret it for my whole life.

 

Foodcourt in front of my hotel.. Makes me hungry..

After finishing the make-fat-tummy dish for tonight, we decided to sleep so we could wake up early in the morning and prepare for Genting Highlands and Petaling Street. Tomorrow was my last day so I don’t want to wasting my time. Tomorrow will be awesome. Even though today i didn’t ride with monorail yet, but tomorrow I will.

To be continued..

Ledy Simanjuntak

One thought on “… Chapter 3, Backpacking Trip 1 : Kuala Lumpur …

Leave a Reply

